Maintaining Spiritual Balance During Change

The Phoenix at 50 — a Time of Reinvention

Photo by Marek Piwnicki on Unsplash

I never imagined I’d be at such a pivotal point at fifty. I envisioned being tucked happily into a healthy relationship, living in a cozy house, driving a comfy car, and having a good life. I did that for a while. Now it’s time to do something different.

I don’t know what yet; but it’s not this. The Universe has tried gentle nudges, but I was stubborn. Now I’m being forcibly removed from my situation.

When I was thirty, I totally witched out.

It wasn’t fashionable, then. I wasn’t part of any coven or group. I’d about had enough of churches and religion altogether. But I did have an inherent pull towards things like the moon and her phases, the planets and their rotations, tarot cards, dream meanings, palmistry, animal magick, numerology, and any other esoteric soul food I could get my hands on.

I wore the role. I had spaghetti strap tank tops and broomstick skirts and bare feet whenever I could get away with it. I wore crystals around my neck and bracelets on my wrists and long braids in my hair.

Young.

I was mystic. I was sexy. I was whimsical. Full of my own faith.

--

--

Wendi Lady - It's a Wendiful World

Wendi deep-dives through words into realms of spirituality, vulnerable self-discovery, self-awareness, personal development, empowerment, and mental wellness..